Groovy.

Transformation

Hart, BK_#1_Camellias in Bloom

I spent two days clearing the overgrowth from our neglected garden on the suggestion that my creations would look less like trash strewn haphazardly about. During this time I recalled memories of working along-side my grandmother in her garden when I was a teen. Names of the plants came to my mind and I could almost hear her voice as she instructed me on the care of every plant. She passed a wealth of knowledge down to me along with her love and respect for nature. This was a great gift and I believe I should pay it forward by working to raise awareness through my art on the threats to our beautiful planet. As I cleared, I also realized that my initial idea for this installation could not convey this deep respect for nature. I became convinced that no matter how neat the space if I did not pursue a more realistic representation my message would become as jumbled as the landfills and floating trash islands I am concerned about and might be lost altogether. I wanted to work WITH the spiritual qualities I could feel rising from this peaceful little garden, not against them. So I went back to the drawing board……

The first step was to explore the collection of material I have so lovingly cherished for two years. Pulling out the many bags and boxes of colorful styrofoam, cellophane bags, plastic bottles with colorful labels – I began to ‘see’ flowers. Using google search I entered terms such as “yellow flowers” and “blue flowers” and scrolled through the images. As I narrowed down my search I would also see flowers so beautiful that I longed to be able to recreate them in my studio. So I would go back to my piles and boxes of post consumer packaging and search for material to make it work. This process for me is not a hurried, careless pawing through my stuff but rather a deliberate and thoughtful sifting. To me the results are always worth the extra time.

So now I will let those results speak for themselves. I hope you enjoy them as much as I enjoyed making them.

2 responses

  1. I would love to see you pull apart a couple of these like a botonist’s illustration, with call outs from the flower to what the material you used is. It would act as sort of a careful documentation of your care, and also show the reader/viewer the breadth of use. So, maybe some pencil drawings now from the creations, with linear call outs to the text of “cellephane cigarette covers” or “zip ties” or “juice box” etc. Again, as you have so carefully employed your excellent powers of direct observation, i would go to the direct sources of botanical illustrations at their finest, created by the best illustrators, and work in that style. ie http://www.asba-art.org/article/botanica-collected-glass-garden
    I love this work!

    May 6, 2013 at 8:30 pm

Leave a Reply

