Groovy.

Risky Business

The third painting for this semester involved beginning with a subject taken from a still life and executed on paper using direct observation with attention to form.

After all of us worked carefully on drawing out a form or forms from our still life that was rendered carefully, we were instructed to take some risks with the assigned media. Ink in bold colors, water-soluble crayons, and white acrylic gesso was provided.

Wait a minute…..by take risks did you mean do something we had never tried before?

On our careful, precise drawings???

well ok………………..

So a good start, but all the lines are running off the page. And that diagonal line at the bottom does not help.

Okay…now the eye follows the page better…

NO! NO! NO! This is about the legs from the still life! NOT what’s in your head!

More legs?

Yeah…. better. Now can we resolve the background so this becomes about the still life?

Much better for the critique! The corners need to be painted in and there is still a washed out feel…

I like!

Taking the risk of letting go of what’s in my head and what I ‘think’ I know seems to be right for me. I am learning more about the media, technique, and rules of design (and how to use them) than in the years before. What I made for art in the past was ok….but I want my art to be awesome! If I can quiet my ego and open my mind to new ideas and directions I believe I can take off and fly one day…..

7 responses

  1. dlalford

    The layers in this are really beautiful!

    October 14, 2011 at 11:49 pm

  2. I love the white legs. They stand out against the background in an incredible way. The background color is also perfect as to make the legs pop. I also love the repetition, they are having a conversation.

    You could work on the shading or value of the legs to give them more depth.

    October 15, 2011 at 5:03 pm

  3. I loved your contrasting lines and values between you background and manikin legs. I would love to see more shadows and depth between the two though.

    October 15, 2011 at 7:24 pm

  4. alloverdplace

    I loved how your painting transformed form start to finish. I think that, the amount of risk you took with your painting, is the most impressive thing about your painting. I do, however, believe that the end product is a little flat. I think that the legs need more depth and or definition to really help resolve them.

    October 16, 2011 at 10:21 pm

  5. Your painting is definitely one of my favorites. There is something really playful about how you have two sets of legs instead of just one. The colorful background is also really nice. It lets the legs be the star of the painting.

    October 17, 2011 at 2:33 pm

  6. I love all of the pictures and progress this painting made. Even though I loved the first layer of drips, I also appreciate the quality of the finished painting, or current stage it is in. I love the idea of doubling the legs as to have them having a conversation. It’s super cool!! :]]

    October 17, 2011 at 5:17 pm

  7. Pingback: Painting 3: Risk Chance Hazard Possibility Danger Loss | FLUID MEDIA

Leave a Reply

